Day One And The World Looks Good

I can type these words without glasses. And I can read them without glasses. I’ve waited a half-century to say that.

Life with new corneas looks very, very good. Not perfect, as I do have reading glasses for things like newsprint, medicine bottles, recipes and other small-type issues. But for most other things, everyday living comes without a frame around it. I spent years hoping the technology would get here, only to have my eyesight get worse faster than the technology got better. Finally, the day of reckoning came when my eye doctor said, “I can’t help you anymore unless we go through with surgery.”

We did. No regrets so far.

I know this technology did not come out of thin air. Long before there were artificial implants, there were donor corneas, taken from the deceased who had signed organ donor cards, or from those whose families made the difficult decision to donate their tissue and organs upon their death. Cornea transplant surgery has been around since the early 1900s, and has a very long and successful history. Advances in eye surgery, from laser correction to cataract removal to implants, all had their beginnings in the early science of donor cornea surgery

English: Reading glasses. ‪中文(繁體)‬: 老花眼鏡

English: Reading glasses. ‪中文(繁體)‬: 老花眼鏡 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

. Many, many people literally gave of themselves leading up to this day, when I looked at the bottom line of the eye chart, and saw it for the first time, in all its 20/20 glory.

To all the organ donors unknown to me: thank you. Oh, and I’m an organ donor as well. Just paying it forward when the time comes.

2 Comments

Filed under thought

2 responses to “Day One And The World Looks Good

  1. How fanastic! I am happy for you and happy when science means that people live better.

  2. Aw, thanks! There’s some stuff I’d rather not see- like the dust bunnies in the dining room!

Leave a Reply

