The Pension Is Coming! The Pension Is Coming!

Personal Finance

Personal Finance (Photo credit: 401(K) 2013)

I’ve known it for years: the first day my very first pension starts. It’s almost here.

The day my first job pays me money for all the time I sat in a smoky cubicle (yes, I just dated myself to the days when smoking was allowed indoors) and slaved away, wondering what else I could do with my life, and how soon I could do it.

Life has certainly taken some odd turns since those days. And the oddest of them will occur this weekend, when I get together with some of those people from the other smoky cubicles.

It will be a strange day, seeing former colleagues whose names I easily recall from thirty years ago, but whose faces have surely changed. I have spotted a few on Facebook and LinkedIn, and I have to tell you, I’m a tad suspicious that they look that good online. I’m wondering if I should bring a camera and take pictures, or if I should allow them their vanity (as they will hopefully allow me mine) and simply take home some memories. I’m leaning towards the memories at the moment.

But about that pension: it isn’t much, given that the job was from the late 1970s and early 1980s. It represents bucks for the budget, which always helps, even though the amount will only buy cat food and shampoo every month. But it’s nice to have it coming in. What it really represents is a milestone, the passage of time and the reaching of an age that seemed as unthinkable as iPad Minis and Androids back then. The money is going straight into savings; I don’t feel like a pensioner, so I don’t feel I should be spending a pension right now. I do feel like working and doing and finding out what’s next, and what’s next is a very interesting job interview this week. I’ll let you know how it goes.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under thought

Leave a Reply

