New Job? Yes! No Compensation…No Thanks

Networking Freelancers

Networking Freelancers (Photo credit: solobasssteve)

I’ve started a serious job search. And while I’m not a veteran at this kind of thing, I’ve done it enough to know that things have changed.

Put it into automotive terms: I’m holding onto the steering wheel, but the car it’s attached to looks a whole lot different.

Early in my working career, we had no social media. No Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn or other digital assistance for finding job listings, networking, posting a resume, etc. Networking in the old days involved a telephone, actual paper resumés and a lot of drinking in bars. And when a job was posted (in something called a printed newspaper), you faxed your resumé from your office, someone else’s office or a UPS Store. Now, anyone can find a job posting, email, click, attach resumé and hit Send, without ever leaving the comfort of the couch and bag of Cheetos.

And there’s a phenomenon I’ve noticed recently: the idea of working for no pay, just for the possibility of getting one’s work, usually freelance writing, noticed, on someone’s blog, magazine or other publication, for which they are likely earning money. No compensation…um, no thanks. Whatever it is I plan to do from now on, I’d like to get paid for it. I can work for no pay elsewhere; it’s called being a volunteer.

I’m getting the word out to my network, and won’t have an issue trying out part-time gigs, just to see if they are a good fit. I’m not sad or pained by the end of the old working life. I’ve seen it coming for a long time, and kept up the pretense of life support for far too long. I’m getting the money and insurance details in order, and making sure bills are paid off and there’s a good stock of supplies for us and the cats. The Husband was shocked by all this, but handled it well. He saw it coming, and I think he believes I’ll be around the house more. On the contrary, I plan to be busier than ever, I will install a lock on the home office door, and I will find something that makes me want to get up and get to work every day. Never again do I want to feel like a day of work is a four-letter word. And thanks in advance for your support. Oh, and job leads/ideas are also welcome.

3 Comments

Filed under blogging, employment, freelancing, technology, thought

3 responses to “New Job? Yes! No Compensation…No Thanks

  1. I want quite badly to do something different. But I’ll wait until I retire – I need to do it the non-scary way. But I envy you.

    • nancymn

      Thanks. But here’s the thing. I don’t know when, or if, there is a retirement. I don’t know when death is coming. I’ve outlived a lot of younger friends already, and I cannot keep going like this. I cannot go to work and have it feel like pain and misery. I don’t have the support and trust of a boss who would rather keep another employee who makes everyone around her miserable. You have to know when to cut the losses and find out what makes you happy. Oh, and of course, what makes you some money. It sure is scary, but it helps to have a support system around you.

  2. If you’re still looking for freelance stuff, e-mail me. A guy I know is starting a new site and is seeking writers.

Leave a Reply

