Since When Does A Phone Have To Do THAT?

English: Nokia N8

English: Nokia N8 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Chalk me up as the proverbial last of the tech Mohicans.

I still own a flip phone.

And it’s only the second cell phone I’ve ever owned in my fifty-plus years on Earth. The first was one of those shoebox-sized monstrosities that required a truss  and fit inside nothing resembling a normal purse, unless your purse was made by Samsonite.

I’m fine with my phone. It makes calls, takes calls, sends and receives and emails and texts (though I don’t do either), it can get news and weather, build a contact list, change ring tones and graphics. And offhand, I cannot think of much else I’d want. I don’t want to read off the screen, other than an incoming phone number. I know people who read novels on their smartphones. They are mostly young people with keen eyesight, and they will not have that keen eyesight for long if they continue to view tiny words. And as for taking pictures, why would I do that with a phone? That’s why I have a digital camera. I don’t want to flash my phone in a restaurant or cultural event, photograph it and annoy a list of my nearest and dearest with a grainy, blurry photo of what I am doing at that moment. I prefer to download a nice photo and really annoy them with it later. Texting? I admit, it holds no appeal for me. Maybe it’s the limitation on letters; as a writer, I want to express as I see fit. Starting off with a literary lid on it puts a damper on my thoughts.

Yes, I am aware of apps, and how wonderful, extraordinary and useful they are. My friend (the one I am training with for the half-marathon) has a running app on his smartphone. Problem is, it’s not doing him much good, since he really hasn’t started training yet. Two of my office mates have downloaded an app for our new office phone system. Problem is, every time a call comes into the office, it rings their smartphones, and there’s apparently no way to get the app to understand that such an event should only occur if they are out of the office, not sitting there at their desk, able to answer their office phone. I thinks apps are fine – if the human on the working end is ready for them.

I get funny looks when I whip out my flip phone, but not a lot of funny looks. Mainly because I don’t use my phone in public places where my conversation might actually bother someone, or be overheard by someone. Using a flip phone is not a point of pride or a means for bragging rights. You don’t tend to take it out on public transit, in a restroom, at an art show opening, on a mountaintop or other place where it – and  you – could be noticed and admired for your choice of technology. Then again, that kind of caution means you are less likely to do the dumb things that people with smartphones do, like drop it on the floor, in a toilet, a trashcan or over the side of a rocky cliff.

Of course, I plan to give up my flip phone one of these days, and make a decision on which smartphone to buy. As soon as the Smithsonian has a prime spot available to display my sweet little Samsung, I’ll be happy to relinquish my hold upon it.

6 Comments

Filed under consumer products, Current news, social media, technology

6 responses to “Since When Does A Phone Have To Do THAT?

  1. Cheesy

    AMEN! Admittedly though, with my hearing impairment, getting a smartphone with only a text and data package is looking more and more appealing. It isn’t a priority at the moment, but I will be making a switch and ditching voice altogether.

  2. I kept my little Motorola flip phone for so long I could no longer recharge it and I could not find battery packs in the Smithsonian. I bought an iphone, but I didn’t think I would really use it. And now I am addicted. (but to internet access, not to texting.) And in two years, I think I have only received one phone call that was not from a telemarketer.

    • nancymn

      I know I’ll love it when I switch. I just have to make the decision on which to buy, then give the old one a proper send off.

  3. Ditto, ditto: Mine is a flip phone and it’s only the second one. And I have never sent a text. Sue me.

  4. nancymn

    You have no idea how many people looked at me this weekend while I was at my swim meet, wondering why I had not entered the 21st century and bought the iPhone.

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Call Me, Maybe | Life Is a Highway

Leave a Reply

