I’m Doing WHAT With You?

Fun runners taking part in the 2006 Bristol Ha...

Fun runners taking part in the 2006 Bristol Half Marathon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A dear friend has decided to run a half-marathon. That’s 13.1 miles for you non-running types. The race is eleven months away. And he’s asked for my help.

Awwwwww, you’re all thinking. How nice that he thinks well of you. And that’s true. It is nice, and he does think well of me, as I do of him. But he wants me do races with him: 5K, 10K events, on up to and including a half-marathon in preparation for next year’s event.

Here’s the deal: I’m fine with the 5K and 10K and even some longer “oddball” distances, like four and eight-milers. As far as anything longer goes: been there, done those and hung up the distance running shoes on them. The reasons are varied. Age (I am a healthy distance over fifty), other sports interests (I bike for fun and swim competitively), time considerations (I’ve blogged about those enough) and work (two jobs, and looking to replace the full-time one with something I actually like). Oh, there’s a few cats, a house and The Husband at home, who might occasionally like a scrap of attention.

But being a thoughtful friend, I provided links to local races, an entry form for a race we could do together, the website for his closest running club. I also sent along some helpful information from Hal Higdon and Jeff Galloway, two marathon runners and coaches who provide sound running advice for newbie runners. Of course, I had to read the information from Higdon and Galloway first before sending it. Just to make sure it would be suitable, of course. And on one of their websites, I found a 32-week schedule for painlessly prepping for a half-marathon. Of course I printed it. I mean, I was just curious.

OK, fine, you figured it out. It’s posted on my fridge. I’m not new to pounding the pavement, but my last race over a 10K was last March. So as far as distance running goes, I’d be back to scratch. Sheesh, do I want to do this again? Am I willing to make the commitment not just to someone else, but to myself? Are things like sleep and social activities really that overrated?

Yes, yes and apparently, yes. Time to lace up and head out.

4 Comments

Filed under Exercise, mental health, Running

4 responses to “I’m Doing WHAT With You?

  1. Cheesy

    You are a glutton for punishment, aren’t you? ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. nancymn

    It’s also a four-letter word at this point. Grrrrrr.

Leave a Reply

