Beauty Hurts, And It’s (Probably) Worth It

Surgery

Surgery (Photo credit: Army Medicine)

I had facial surgery yesterday, mostly because I thought it was a good idea.

The primary goal was to remove several moles from my less-than-stellar mug. None was cancerous, but all were fugly. I’d had them for years and hated them.

The secondary goal was to emerge looking Miss Universe-perfect. I look rather Frankenstein-ish, actually, with several swathes of alarming black thread attached to my face. So much for hitting the pageant circuit any time soon.

I look bad enough to make small children cry, but I’ve seen worse on myself. Heck, when I had major surgery years ago, I had so many stitches I looked like a railroad yard.

Why do we do these things to make ourselves look better, when we realize 1) it’s going to really hurt; 2) we don’t know what the final outcome could be; 3) it costs money and 4) we don’t know whether we can stop doing it after the first time? Is the process of beauty addictive? And who decides what beauty is, and when enough work is enough? Is it enough to buy the “right” shampoo and conditioner and moisturizer, and when you purchase that $100 per ounce eye cream, is a worthy investment, or is it jumping the skin care shark? And on the day you inspect the face in the mirror and say, “Yanno, there’s no more magic in a bottle for you, kiddo. It’s time to see the nice doctor with the really good tools,” are you not merely bounding over the beast, but grabbing it, pulling the head back and slitting its throat?

A good (male) friend of mine was all for the procedure I had done yesterday, and is supportive of anything I choose to do as far as personal improvement goes. I was expecting him to say something along the lines of, “Oh, no, you look fine now; why put yourself through that,” etc. But instead, he gave voice to the idea that anything done to make oneself feel and look better, so long as it is done with common sense and within the bounds of medical safety and financial capability, is fine. I appreciated his thinking. The Husband was supportive of the idea as well (OK, I did get the deer-in-the-headlights look from him at first mention).

I’ve survived this: Beauty Bout Round 1. Now pardon me while I go check my FSLA (Face Lift Savings Account) .

6 Comments

Filed under Aging, health and beauty

6 responses to “Beauty Hurts, And It’s (Probably) Worth It

  1. cheesy

    Hope you heal quickly and the results are what you hoped for! 🙂

  2. I’m all for personal “enhancements”. Still waiting on my reduction (due to work issues and cost), but recently purchase laser hair removal for myself at a steep discount…..I think I’m hooked! 🙂 I have no idea why I waited so long – other than money concerns.

    I hope you heal soon and relatively painlessly – and don’t scare too many children! 😉

  3. I was talking to a plastic surgeon years ago, and I thought his standard was great: he said that when you are so unhappy with your looks that it is interfering with living your life…. when you can NEVER forget your looks and just LIVE … then you should fix it.

    • Nancy Munro

      Agreed! It was absolutely time to get it done! Less than 24 hours to go until the stitches come out. Not that I’m counting or anything.

Leave a Reply

