Celeste Fronsman, Who Hated You So Much?

Celeste Fronsman is dead. She was 29 years old.
Don’t recognize the name? It’s not likely you would, unless you were in the area of east-central Ohio last week. Fronsman was found last Sunday on a rural roadway near Zanesville in Muskingum County; raped, beaten, naked and burned over eighty percent of her body. Some of the burns were fourth-degree burns, which means the skin was falling off her body.
And the Good Samaritan who found Celeste found her alive and still of sound enough mind to tell him her name and where she lived. She was screaming in agony, begging not to be left alone, as the stranger tried to help her by covering her with a towel from his truck and providing her with a drink. He also loosened the strap around her neck, so she could breathe. She told him that people were trying to kill her.
Celeste died about a day later. The coroner still has yet to determine what exactly caused her death. I’m not making up that last statement. As incredible as it sounds, the coroner has to diligently pursue a cause of death, even when it seems obvious. Or when it hardly seems to matter.
Who could have hated this woman so much to do that kind of damage? She was a mother once (her daughter Jordyn died back in 2005). she cared about a man once at least to create that little girl. She was a daughter, a granddaughter. Some news outlets mentioned her troubled, criminal past. Some used a police booking photo of her to illustrate the story of her death. One newspaper did use a photo of her and her little girl. They looked a lot alike, with thick, dark hair, olive skin and dark eyes.
As of now, there are “persons of interest” being sought in this case, but no arrest(s) yet. Beyond the insanity and the inhumanity of this attack is the question: where does the violence end? I don’t care what Celeste Fronsman did or said to anyone. No one deserves to die like this. And the person(s) responsible don’t deserve to walk away, leaving her to die on a rural roadside with the sound of a stranger’s prayer likely the last thing she ever heard.

An update to this story: several arrests have been made in this case. LaFonse Darney Dixon and Monica Jean Washington were arrested Tuesday, Sept. 4. Katrina Marie Culberson was arrested several days prior. All three have been charged with aggravated murder, kidnapping and aggravated arson. The aggravated murder charge carries the death penalty.

9 Comments

Filed under Current news, Uncategorized, violen e against women

9 responses to “Celeste Fronsman, Who Hated You So Much?

  1. Bre

    Celeste, being an addict, hung around other addicts. One person who has been arrested so far in connection with Celeste’s murder was a twenty year old girl named Katrina Culberson; supposedly the victim’s “friend.” I speak from personal experience when I say that people who are in active addiction carry within them a very anti-social personality. They are capable of absolutely anything and as long as they can remain high, they do not have to deal with the consequences of their actions no matter how severe. The need for the drug is so overwhelmingly powerful, an addict will do and sacrifice anything to get it. When clean and sober, on the other hand, probably wonderful and caring people. I am very grateful to be in recovery today.

    It is sad what addiction can do to a person’s mind. Perhaps Celeste had a substantial amount of drugs on her she was not willing to share. Maybe she had money. Maybe her “friend” was jealous of Celeste’s natural beauty. Whatever the reason, the people who did this (cause lets face it, there was more than one) were very mentally disturbed individuals; and all addicted, I guarantee it.

    • nancymn

      Thanks, Bre. I just got back into town, and was planning to update this with the information about the one arrest. It’s good to know there is hope through the hard work of recovery, and I am glad to hear that you are succeeding. I know the process is ongoing. In Celeste’s case, my understanding is that in addition to the drugs, the death of her daughter and mother also may have played a role in her inability to cope. I am inclined to agree with you on the drug angle in this case.

  2. if we can be understanding of the victims addiction, lets stop and remember that katrina had a severe addiction herself. though it is no excuse for what she did, she truly has little memory of the incident. also, it was totally out of character for her to particapate in something of that nature. i know katrina personally…the sober katrina. she is one of the most inspiring people i have ever met. i recently had a devestating event happen in my own life, and i can honestly say, that had she not been there to support me with her possitive attitude and encouragement i’m not sure i would have made it through. drugs are a terrible thing and change a person dramatically. she deserves some credit for admiting her guilt and attempting to make things right within herself and giving some closer to the victim’s family. my prayers are with the victim AND katrina.

    • nancymn

      I have been following the story on the case, Molly. I am glad you posted, though a lot of folks will not be inclined to agree with you. Having worked in the criminal justice system for years, it’s hard to forget cases like this, no matter where you are when you hear about them, and no matter how much (or how little) connection you have with them personally. In your case, you do have a significant connection, so I can understand your point of view. I hope Katrina gets help, even as she must face what the system has to to do next in this case.

  3. Jen

    Bre- let me tell you something. I speak from personal experience too, when I say you are WRONG! I was in active addiction for 9 years. From 14-25 I ran the streets of Baltimore, using heroin and cocaine. I stole from my parents mostly. Jewelry, tv’s, electronics, checks, credit cards to support my habit. I worked here and there. I never hurt anyone! (Except my parents monetarily and emotionally) I never assaulted anyone, robbed anyone, or freaking ever thought of physically harming someone for money! I’m so tired of people claiming drug addicts are anti-social and will do anything including kill to get drugs. That is not true. Drugs do not inherently change the person you are. (Well maybe meth, but meth is the only one) You don’t get hooked on heroin and turn from a meek, shy girl into some violent gang banging monster. It didn’t matter how much dope was in me, I would have never hurt someone. I couldn’t. It just was not in my makeup to harm people. The drug card is a convenient way for bad people to blame anyone but themselves and it’s a nice way for people like you Bre, to convince yourself that only the big, bad addicts do this stuff, not regular people! So you can make yourself believe you’re safe since you’re not around addicts. Any addict that kills or robs or assaults someone, is a person that has that capability without drugs. In fact most of the crimes by drug addicts are committed while off drugs and in search of money to get high. Sorry, but you can not make a blanket statement like you did!

  4. Jen

    Katrina can’t remember dousing someone with gasoline and torching them? Of course not. She’s a poor, innocent girl that took some drugs and then blacked out and violently tortured and killed someone. Stop this nonsense. I don’t care how high I am, if someone started torturing and raping someone I was with, I’d do whatever it took to stop it. Call 911, try to mellow everyone out. I certainly wouldn’t participate. Do not allow Katrina to delude you into believing that it was the drugs, not her and/or that she can’t remember it. She is lying and shifting the blame. Who would tell the truth? Who would say that they’re a monster?

    • nancymn

      Jen, I’m glad you posted. Your point of view is a welcome one, coming from the side of the person who’s been there. I was employed in the criminal justice system for years, and heard the “drugs-turned-me-into-a-monster” story many times in court and in jail. Did I, or do I, believe what was said? I think the truth lies somewhere in between. I think maybe the drugs can wreak changes in a person, if the capacity for such change is there. In other words, if the capacity to cause injury to others was already present, the drugs may increase that capability. Can the drug use move someone in a complete 180-degree turn from nice to noxious? Is it the drugs themselves that bring about a chemical change in the brain, or possibly the nature of physical addiction itself, that can breed a monster? Or do those who care about addicted friends and family choose to look past the damage done and say, “But that’s not the person, that’s the drugs,” and keep saying it until it’s real and true?
      I have a relative who happens to be a psychiatrist, and I may put the question to him, just out of curiosity.

      • Kc

        I was a friend of Celeste was around her daughter from the day she was born she was a good person with a good heart yea she may have been a addict but she didn’t deserve any of this no Matter what !!! You can make excuses for a lot of things but murder is not something that can be excused ex specially the things they did to her they all deserve the death penalty bottom line that was a sick crime that I spent days crying about and still do.to this day I think of her daughter as my guardian angle and always will.but for any one to sit here and defend those 3 people and blame drugs for this you are sick yourself they tortured her in a way that no person on this earth deserved no matter what Celeste did she didn’t deserve that.And if they all three don’t get the death penalty I will feel that justice wasn’t served it takes a sick mind (minds) to do that to someone. think if that was someone you knew very well and how you would feel? Bottom line these people are sick and deserve the death penalty no questions asked….

      • nancymn

        I’m sorry for what this has done to you and yours, Kc. I think a society that does not understand addiction and what it does to addicts will always find a reason to blame the drugs for the crime, rather than hold those responsible for what they did, without looking at the role the drugs played in any of it. It’s just easier to do that than look at the fuller picture, or tackle the underlying problem, which isn’t just the crime, but the drugs that surround it. As a former employee in the criminal justice system, I don’t think you can deal with one aspect of this without the other. And I don’t think there will ever be a punishment that fits this crime adequately. The death penalty might be too quick for those who committed this offense.

Leave a Reply

