Suitcase Blues: Love Travel, Hate Packing

Suitcases

Suitcases (Photo credit: Rog42)

I enjoy going on the road: discovering offbeat restaurants, meeting new people, eating, seeing new places, finding great food.

Did I mention I like to travel for food? It’s true.

But I hate getting ready for a trip. I look at it as a chore, an unpaid job and a source of extreme stress.

I like the planning portion of a trip. I want to do the research: look up routes and maps, admission prices and history. I print and punch holes and place everything in a loose-leaf binder, tagged and sorted by date, city and activity type. Yes, I know I could do this on a Blackberry, an iPhone or other digital planner, and have a Siri-like reminder tell me what’s next each minute of each day of my trip. Oh, and I could use my iPad to take notes on the trip. I hate to break it to you, but I still use paper notebooks. At least I’ve moved into the twentieth century and switched to a digital camera, so give me a little tech credit.

My distaste for the travel procedure centers around packing. I hate to do it. I can never decide what to take, what to leave behind, and when I do make my choices, how to make them fit without making the bag look less like an overstuffed turkey and more like the suitcase of a seasoned, sensible traveler. 

Maybe the problem is that I begin to pack too early, like two weeks before the trip. I give myself too much time to plan and think and ruminate about what I want to take, when I should consider only what I really need. I pack for every possible bad scenario, instead of realizing that if the worst case scenario happens, I will still be close enough to civilization to buy what I need.

I have no idea how people visit third-world countries for a month with only a backpack and duffel bag, much less consider sharing a single suitcase with their spouse. I’ll be doing the latter with mine, and I’ll let you know how that turns out – assuming we survive being in the same car for a week.

4 Comments

Filed under food, relaxation, travel, Uncategorized, vacation

4 responses to “Suitcase Blues: Love Travel, Hate Packing

  1. cheesy

    LOL! I just got back from 2-1/2 weeks in Houston. I only took a duffel, and didn’t even wear everything I took. Granted I was at my parents, and it was easy to just wash when I needed to. I took a 3 mile power walk every morning, but only took 2 shorts and 4 tanks for that, wearing the shorts twice and the tanks once, and then washing between. It all worked out well. I think we often take more than we need to, but everything will be fine, and I am sure you will have a blast. Oh, and DH and I share a suitcase and a duffel when we go to PA to visit his parents. More often than not, jeans can be worn more than once, so that lightens the suitcase load to take fewer with you! 🙂

    Have a wonderful trip and safe travels! ❤

    • nancymn

      I do wash when I travel, too. I thought I was the only one who did that. Good to know I’m not crazy. Well, not a lot crazy.

  2. Teresa Cleveland Wendel

    I have a tote filled with essential toiletries that always is ready to. That makes it one step easier when I pack for a trip.

Leave a Reply

