I Found A Phone…And Nobody Cared?

A funny thing happened on my running way this morning.

 I found a cellphone. A very expensive cellphone, according to my Internet research. Unfortunately, by the time I figured out where the “On” button was, I found out it was an expensive, dead cellphone.

Before I set out to find out whose it was, I spoke to a few people about how and why cellphones get lost. I mean, this was not what I would call a lightweight item, given its small size. And then, it’s a possession someone paid for.

When I mentioned the idea of tracing the owner by taking it to the service carrier of record (shown on the outside of the phone), I was asked by several people why I would bother. “They’ve probably just gone ahead and bought a new one anyway.” I also heard, “Oh, I [the husband, the kids] lose phones regularly; I’ve had to replace it a few times.”

I don’t get it. Maybe I’m showing my age, but it’s about respecting your possessions. With all the news about the horrible economy and lack of jobs, you would think people would be more respectful of their stuff, know where it is and take care of the things they spend hard-earned money on. Especially these new phones that store your entire life: address book, photos, emails, texts, Internet games, and all the other things that keep people busy while they work or drive or eat in restaurants.

It’s also about trying to return a possession to a stranger who might want it. I still believe in doing the right thing and the “due diligence” of finding the owner of something lost.

Many will shrug and say that we have been a “throwaway” society for so long, that our discards no longer matter, whether they involve unloved children, poor elderly, unwanted pets; so why should a mere cellphone matter? I guess I’m tired of seeing the trash on the side of the road, whether the road is asphalt or life’s metaphysical highway, and figure it’s time for me to help clean it up.

Note: Many folks have asked about Kitty. She’s home and doing well. Eating a little more each day, still on meds for another week. Thanks for asking; it’s good to know you care.

4 Comments

Filed under frugality, technology, thought, Uncategorized

4 responses to “I Found A Phone…And Nobody Cared?

  1. My husband thinks everything should last forever. It’s a nice attitude. Makes you take care of old stuff.

  2. I found a phone at a bus stop a couple of years ago and went through all kinds of machinations to find the owner.
    Finally contacted a relative. She wanted to know what I wanted.
    “I’ve found a phone and your number was on it. I’d like to know whose phone this is so I can return it.”
    “What do you want?”
    “Um…to return the phone?”
    “No, I mean what do you want to return the phone?”
    Finally I figured out what she meant: Was I asking for a reward or an incentive? I’d read about people holding phones hostage.
    Eventually the owner was contacted and came over to get it. She couldn’t quite believe that all I wanted was to get the $#@!% phone out of my house and back into hers. Sheesh.
    And yeah, it blows me away that people would think, “Oh, I’ll just buy a new one.”
    If you can’t find the owner, you might be able to donate it during Protect Your Identity Week, Oct. 16-22. A number of places are accepting them, wiping them clean and giving them to law enforcement agencies. Check the website, http://www.protectyouridnow.org/, for a map of events in your area. Or just go online to look for cell-phone recycling.

    • nancymn

      I know they can be “wiped” and donated to domestic violence shelters, too. Which is nice, but I agree with you. Why aren’t more people upset about the loss of possessions they paid for in the first place?

Leave a Reply

