When Life Gets Tough, Dip It In Chocolate

I have a bowl of warm chocolate sauce sitting on the table as I type.

It is no accompaniment other than a spoon and my enjoyment. And that’s just fine.

It’s been fourteen months since I started working two jobs: a “real” one and this freelance life. In short: the acceptance and the money have been nice; the rejections stink. Today was a rejection kind of day; hence the sauce.

 But looking at it from a longer point of view, I have met some interesting people with great stories. I have interviewed cooks, business owners and foodies with passion and purpose; many of them gave up the surety of lives filled with money and material goods to do what they know they were born to do.  

I’ve taken on more volunteer work, which might not have been the smartest idea on the surface, but it has actually provided a means to begin conversation in some awkward situations. Sometimes, you cannot just leap in and talk food; you need to glide in on another topic.

I still run, bike and swim, which helps burn the calories taken in during tastings. I am a competing Senior Olympian (swimming), which adds a little travel to my schedule. Overall, it’s not a life to complain about.

I would prefer to pull the plug on my old life once and for all, and like many people, I dream about it regularly. A combination of necessity (insurance) and a conservative streak of sanity prevents it. But the cord connecting me to the that life is clearly frayed, and I have no interest in doing repairs. This weekend, I pull my writings together, and design my own site to market myself. I also plan to redo my chocolate website, and get it up and running once and for all.

And speaking of chocolate, mine is getting cold. Pardon me while I pull my emotions out of the bowl, scrape them clean and get this week finished. I have work to do this weekend.

2 Comments

Filed under employment, food, freelancing

2 responses to “When Life Gets Tough, Dip It In Chocolate

  1. They say if you want something done you should ask a busy person. I’ll re-tool that: Ask a busy person, but offer her chocolate in return.

  2. nancymn

    Oh, a bribe always works. You know me very well!

Leave a Reply

