A part-time job…but not what I expected

I found some part-time work. Just not where I expected to find it.

I was hoping to be working in the food service field, in some nice little restaurant/bakery or whatever by now.

Intead, I am freelance writing/editing. Who knew that a practice blog would lead to getting paid for my words?

I found some work on elance.com by bidding on some posts, and was chosen by a copywriter in Las Vegas to work for her, finding sources of information and doing research on topics. I have my Paypal account and there’s actual money that’s been sent to it, and transferred to my bank.

My gosh, I’ve done it. I’ve created a freelance creature. Not a monster yet, just a small critter.

No grandiose plans to spend the money. It isn’t grandiose money. There is a lot of competition out there in freelance land; no different from the brick-and mortar world. But there are a lot of folks like me out there, scratching away at the writing game, taking a shot here and there at whatever dreams they have, while working on the daily drudge called “regular” life. My Next Life will not be regular, nor will it be normal. Making extra money and running a tight ship now will ensure that.

Leave a comment

Filed under Careers, freelancing

Leave a Reply

