Should I stay or should I go?

Exactly when is it time to leave and move on?

Do you wait until you have the money and the moves and all the details in the right order, the paperwork done and the “i’s” dotted, and so on? Or do you close your eyes and take the big leap, and hope that all is well when you land?

I’ve thought about this one a lot over the last few days. I have a part time job starting next month, but I heard some things over the weekend that now cast doubt as to whether the company can make payroll, even for part-timers. My full time job is still there, but the company is not doing well. I have to  wonder: do I start looking for full time employment that I hate, just to make money and keep benefits? Or do I throw caution onto life’s interstate, let it get run over and turned into roadkill, or allow it to play freely in traffic and hope it will dodge oncoming traffic?

Some people are forced into this decision because unemployment leaves them no choice. I am still one of the lucky ones. I have a job, a home, cars, savings, pensions, retirement funds. I harbor no romantic ideals of being broke, down-and-out and inspired to leave my current situation by any measure of desperation. Is that part of the problem? Am I not wanting this enough? Are my goals not good enough?  Is my business plan not right?

I don’t have a long-term answer. My short term answer is that I still need to make money to feed my someday dream machine. I’ve heard all about the “do what you love, and the money will come” notion. No one ever says whether it will come in a  timely enough manner to make the rent, or car payment, or electric bill. You can only “do what you love” if “the money will come” from somewhere  – or someone. That’s the reality of staying…for now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Careers, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

